About the Herdsa New Zealand Branch

HERDSA New Zealand has members from more than 15 tertiary institutions around the country. Our aim is to promote, assist and advance tertiary education in New Zealand. Our particular focus is building a community of tertiary educators and facilitating the improvement of teaching, research and policy. We will represent the interests of members, provide opportunities for networking and professional development, recognise and reward outstanding contributions to tertiary education in New Zealand, and encourage cooperation with other organisations and agencies who have similar interests in tertiary education. We run an annual conference (Tertiary Education Research NZ) when we are not hosting the Australasian HERDSA Conference, as well as regular workshops and seminars. We offer the TERNZ medal to recognise and reward outstanding contributions to tertiary educational research in New Zealand.

The HERDSA (NZ) committee meet approximately once a month.

To join Herdsa go to the main Herdsa website and register to join.

To join HERDSA (NZ) send the membership form to the chairperson.

HERDSA NZ Committee 2017

Name Organisation
Barbara Kensington-Miller (Chair) Centre for Learning and Research in Higher Education (CLeaR), University of Auckland
Rob Wass (Secretary) Higher Education Development Centre, University of Otago
Erik Brogt (Treasurer) Academic Development Group, University of Canterbury
Clinton Golding Higher Education Development Centre, University of Otago
Eva Heinrich School of Engineering & Advanced Technology, Massey University
Giriraj Singh Shekhawat (Raj) School of Population Health, University of Auckland
Jennie Billot Researcher Development, AUT University
John Milne Centre for Teaching and Learning, Massey University
Julia Hallas Auckland University of Technology
Kathryn Sutherland Centre for Academic Development, Victoria University of Wellington
Nell Smith Centre for Learning and Teaching, AUT University
Nikki Going FREEDOM Institute of Higher Education
Tanya Evans Department of Mathematics, University of Auckland
Tony Harland Higher Education Development Centre, University of Otago

TERNZ conference 2017

Previous TERNZ conferences

Upcoming events

Herdsa conference 2018

Other events here

New event details here soon


HERDSA - TERNZ Research Medal

The HERDSA (NZ) committee is seeking nominations for the 2017 TERNZ-HERDSA medal for Sustained Contribution to the Research Environment in New Zealand. Please have a look at the nomination form and consider nominating yourself or someone from your research community. The deadline for submissions is 15 September.

For more information contact:
Dr. Rob Wass, rob.wass@otago.ac.nz, 03 479 7091
Higher Education Development Centre and Student Learning Centre, University of Otago
Secretary of the Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australasia, New Zealand
2017 Nomination Form

Previous medal winners